Story image 1_0

Elementary Teacher of the Year, Dana Chambers and Mr. Rogers

May 16, 2016

The Lockwood R-1 District held its annual awards luncheon on May 12, at the Elementary School cafeteria. During the Luncheon, awards were given to teachers of the year, retirees, and the Friend of Education.

The retirees were Joyce Alexander and LaNita Hackney. Both teachers received plaques for the service. Joyce served 31 years and LaNita 26 years at Lockwood. Pictured with them are their spouses, Joe Alexander and Craig Hackney.

The Elementary Teacher of the Year was awarded to Mrs. Dana Chambers. Dana is the kindergarten teacher at the elementary. She has served our district well since 1998. She does an outstanding job with our little folks.

The High School Teacher of the Year was Mrs. Rebecca Jones. Mrs. Jones teaches high school social studies. Her family was able to attend with her. Mrs. Jones also received the District Teacher of the Year and will compete for the Regional Teacher of the Year for the opportunity to be nominated for Missouri Teacher of the Year.

“We thank all of our teachers and non-certified staff for making this year a very good one at Lockwood R-1. It takes a team to make it all come together. It is such an honor to work with all of our staff.”

The winner of the Friend of Education Award went to Mr. Jeremy Neely. Jeremy volunteered his services to the district for our Town Hall meetings about our tax levy issue last summer and has contributed through the Optimist Club to the district with volunteer time and funds to assist the district. We are very grateful for his service to Lockwood R-1.